Three Greek food clichés

Is it true that all Greeks love olives? Add feta cheese everywhere? And finally do all Greeks smash plates?

I love these cliches, because they make me laugh!

If there are two things I don’t like eating, it’s just those two mentioned above, feta and olives… I can handle them, I can cook with them and I can cook them, but to eat them raw is not something I enjoy. There’ve been moments when my Greekness has been questioned due to this inclination of mine, not to eat olives or feta. My own father ignores the fact that I don’t eat olives, especially as his mother used to make her own olive oil and olives.

My Greek food with feta pies, meatballs and melomakarona at Riverside Studios in Hammersmith London

So each time around the dinner table he’ll ask someone to pass around the olives my way, as if he doesn’t remember that I don’t eat them and acts as surprised as anyone else at me hearing that I won’t have any olives this time either! Hahahahaha

As I’m planning the menu and ingredients for the next Greek Cookery Class on 23 November, I realise that for a second Greek Cookery Class in a row the feta cheese is excluded. It’s pure coincidence, as I’ve had classes where we’ve done everything possible with feta, melted it, baked it, cubed it, added it raw to a salad, but we’re going feta free for a couple of sessions. There’s more to Greek food than feta cheese and there’s also more cheeses to try out than feta. One of my absolute favourites is the Greek hard cheese called Kefalotyri. It’s a PDO (as EU recognises a product of designated origin) meaning that no other country can produce this cheese under the same name. Just as no one else in the world can produce Cognac or Champagne. Kefalotyri is like a Greek version of the Sardinian pecorino cheese! Tastes delicious grated over pasta dishes and the Greek giouvetsi, or yiouvetsi.

But the fact is that Greece produces as many cheeses as our fellow European country France! So when you next visit Greece, make sure to try more cheeses than the obvious feta!

My next Greek Cookery Class on 23 November will be followed by one more Greek Cookery Class this year, date to be announced soon, and that class will be totally vegan. Traditionally, most of the Greek cuisine is based around vegetables and greens, and people in the old days ate very little meat and very rarely. So I’m planning an all wonderful feast of Greek vegan tasty dishes!

Also two more supper clubs before 2010 departs. One Greek Supper Club on Sun 5 Dec and one New Year’s Eve Greek Supper Club on 31 Dec.

Details for the 5 Dec are on www.facebook.com/GreekCookery and the menu for the 31 NYE dinner party will be up later this week.

Have a lovely week and looking forward to cooking with you soon or at least having the pleasure of feeding you with Greek delicacies!

PS. If you want, bring your plates for the 31 Dec and we can smash them together…. just kidding, who smashes plates anyway?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Three Greek food clichés”

  1. poppy Says:

    I love kefalotyri and haloumi. Too good, And my son, won’t eat fetta either.

  2. Tania Says:

    LOL about your Dad! Love that he just won’t accept it 🙂

    I adore olives – ever since I was a little kid and used to get a handful for myself and one for my Baba and eat them watching TV. Also a huge fan of fetta – Dodoni is my fave. I don’t cook with either very often though, I think because I prefer them raw as an accompaniment or part of a salad.

    And smashing plates…yes it looks fun until a bit flies up in your face… I went to the ‘chockiest’ taverna (in Australia) where they not only smashed plates but then set them alight with some sort of fluid – it was bemusing really….

  3. Cheryl Says:

    This is very cute. My husband won’t eat feta either~ and he’s not too keen on olives. I’ve enjoyed reading this, thank you for sharing your world, I’ll definitely be visiting! 🙂

  4. Maria Says:

    I love smashing plates! But have you notice the ones they smash are special ones? The ones in our kitchen are hard o actuall smash I ve discovered. But you are right, it is a cliché. I hqve never actually done plate smashing in grreece but have done it in the US and in London. Markteting & promo have something to do with it.
    Maria x

    PS great blog!

  5. Elisavet Says:

    Poppy, I’m discovering there are many of us out there who don’t eat feta, as well as loads who just love it!

    Tania, plates on fire? Never seen that, sounds like a circus!! hahaha Olives in front of the telly sounds like the healthy snack way better than crisps!

    Cheryl, thank you for visiting and sharing your world!

    Maria, the only plate I’ve ever smashed has been while washing up! And yes, they never break the nice china you eat on at home, only some cheap ones, looks like they’re made of plaster. Thanks for the compliment! E x

  6. ck Says:

    lovely blog and sorry to miss your Supper Clubs (this year!) but looking forward to the ones in 2011

    do you have a Newsletter or some sort of notification of future events? if so, how do we subscribe?

    and yep, the hubby hates olives – me – they’re heaven! love kefalotyri melted on French bread drizzled with lemon – yummm

    • Elisavet Says:

      Thanks for your comment ck, I will add your email address to the mailing list and you can receive info of upcoming supper clubs and cookery classes in that way!

  7. Chrisa Says:

    I also loved reading this and couldn’t stop laughing! My boyfriend is not a big fun of feta nor kalamata olives either …. which is a shame since family is from KALAMATA!! Unfortunately I will not be able to make it to the NYE dinner but I would love to participate and subscribe to your club…could you also add my email to your mailing list please?

  8. Greek wine clichés « Greekfoodlovers' Supper Club Says:

    […] most popular post I’ve ever published. (If you want to read the post it’s here again: https://greekcookeryclass.wordpress.com/2010/11/22/three-greek-food-cliches/ ) One thing I didn’t mention on there, was the ouzo, I’m no big ouzo fan either, but I […]

Leave a Reply

